Wubi

I was on a message board where somebody mentioned to me Wubi. Turns out it’s a program which is supposed to install Ubuntu for you same as any other Windows app.  Rather interesting.

One Response to “Wubi”

  1. John Says:

    Well,

    It doesn’t really install it as an app. It installs it in the windows partition as a few files, and writes a line to the boot.ini file or the vista boot loader. When it boots, it boots full ubuntu, and there is nothing windows about it except where it’s residing. I like the thing. I have it on 5 of my computers. It would be great for a netbook also because it can download ubuntu for you and install it the same way. You don’t need a CD drive. I’ve yet to figure out what is a good files size for it. It asks you during the setup. If anyone knows please let us know. I’ve been using 10GB , but I installed ubuntu on a 4GB usb stick. It was tight. So anywhere between 5GB and 10Gb would be good if you are just going to go on the net and play with the thing.


Leave a Reply

