Miss the old games? Most likely, one of these sites will have them.

Abandonware is a tricky legal subject. On one hand, the games are still copyrighted, on the other, they aren’t sold or supported anymore by the publisher, so unless you’re lucky and find a copy at a yard sale, thrift store, or bargain bin, you’re out of luck. (Of course, you can still buy some of them online, if you have a credit card.)

What is abandonware? Let’s go to Wikipedia.

Abandonware refers to computer software that is no longer sold or supported, or whose ownership may be unclear for various reasons. While the term has been applied largely to older games, other classes of software are sometimes described as such.

Some of the better known abandonware games include: SimCity, Civilization, Railroad Tycoon, Transport Tycoon Deluxe, and many more I can’t remember ‘cos it’s early in the morning.

Some of my personal favourites are the Maxis “SimGames,” like SimAnt, SimEarth, SimTown, SimIsle, SimEarth, SimPark, SimSafari….you get the idea.

Where can I get them, you ask, if they aren’t sold anymore?

That’s where abandonware sites come in.

Two of the best ones are Home Of The Underdogs and Abandonia, but if you want more sites, check out The Abandonware Ring.

You can also get the manuals at replacementdocs.

Happy downloading!

Note: Technically, abandonware downloading is illegal. Do so at your own risk.

13 Responses to “Miss the old games? Most likely, one of these sites will have them.”

  1. keystone auto insurance Says:

    Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I had
    to ask. Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount
    work? I’m brand new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal daily. I’d like
    to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and thoughts online.

    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  2. professional link building services Says:

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve done
    a awesome job with this. Additionally, the blog
    loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Exceptional Blog!

  3. Jeffrey Says:

    Tremendous things here. I am very satisfied to see your post.
    Thank you so much and I am looking ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  4. official website Says:

    Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.

    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. clicking here Says:

    Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G
    .. Anyways, superb blog!

  6. Windy Says:

    Hey your internet site url: http://thegeekeryblog.wordpress.
    com/2008/08/21/miss-the-old-games-most-likely-one-of-these-sites-will-have-them/
    seems to be redirecting to a completely different web site when I click the homepage button.

    You may want to have this checked.

  7. search engine optimization seo comp.. Says:

    Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  8. creativesuitcase.com Says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a
    blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; we have
    developed some nice procedures and we are looking to swap solutions with others, why not shoot
    me an e-mail if interested.

  9. link building packages Says:

    Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa?

    My blog addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog
    by the way!

  10. http://ranish.blinkweb.com/6/2013/05/what-you-need-to-know-about-catalogues-no-credit-check-policy-9f51a/ Says:

    I’m extremely impressed together with your writing talents and also with the format in
    your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you customize
    it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to see
    a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

  11. www.removex.co.uk Says:

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really
    enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  12. storage solutions london Says:

    If you want to obtain a great deal from this article then you have to apply these strategies to your
    won web site.

  13. laptop screen replacement london Says:

    Hi there to every one, it’s in fact a pleasant for
    me to visit this website, it includes valuable Information.


Leave a Reply

